Atmospheric female-fronted dark metal act Upon Shadows will release their new album  Modern Obscurantism as a digital and physical digipack version with 12 pages booklet edition via Ground Media Group (due out October 18th). 

Pre-order album here :

Modern Obscurantism consists of 10 atmospheric dark/black metal tracks with twisted industrial influences. Album was mixed and mastered  at Soundmix Studios, in Oulu, Finland  by Mika Pohjola. 

Stream first official single below:


Natalia Arocena – Bass
Tamara Picardo – Keyboard, guitar & Vocals
Joonas Alaräihä – Session drummer for the album 

Upon Shadows comments about the concept behind the new album:
“It establishes a parallelism between the obscurantism of the Middle Ages and the new forms of control and censorship, reminding us of the importance of keeping rebelliousness alive and fighting for utopias.”


Upon Shadows – Modern Obscurantism


1.   Back to the Dark Ages (Instrumental)
2.   Vanity’s Bonfire
3.   The Archaic Censorship Of Your Eyes
4.   Creators Of Shadows
5.   Dogma: The Infamy Of Fire
6.   Lux Et Umbra
7.   Illusion Of Freedom
8.   Handling Cognitive Factor
9.   Out Of The Blue Comes The New Plague
10. Lucifer

Official links:

Ground Media Group:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *